Goals

My January & February 2018 Goals Review

At the end of each month, I perform a monthly goal review where I measure the progress of my 2018 goals and recalibrate my performance to ensure I reach my targets for the year. The Objective of this review is to be 100% honest and truthful with myself and learn from my mistakes & wins as I go.

Below is my January & February 2018 Monthly Goals Review, which goes over each goal that I set and the progress that I’ve made so far. Ultimately, it is my hope that my goal list and process inspire you to set and achieve your own goals.

Overview:

The start of this year has been refreshing. Not having the weight of my goals from 2017 is liberating, but also, knowing that I accomplished some big goals last year gives me great confidence walking into 2018. Furthermore, I find myself empowered in 2018 by all I’ve learned in 2017. This year my goals are more focused, I am more in line with my values and I am saying ‘no’ to opportunities which aren’t in alignment with my vision.

These past few weeks I’ve also experimented with taking more breaks. My weekends are now (for the most part) a no-work zone and I find this time to be highly valuable because I hit Mondays with a renewed energy and vigor. I also work harder during the weekdays because I respect and enjoy my off time on the weekends. It’s beautifully satisfying feeling closing my laptop Friday evening, knowing I put in good work all week and I have a weekend ahead of me to enjoy.

So without further ado, lets dive right into the goal review for January & February:

With love,
Sunny.

Goals for 2018:

1. I will make 7 figures in 2018

In the world of eCommerce, the start of the year is often very slow in comparison to the holiday season, for that reason sales on my eCommerce store have been lagging in performance. I’ve actually listed my store for sale, with the intention to focus on areas which are more in alignment with my passions and interests. Currently, running an Outdoors Store isn’t as exciting as it once used to be. On a more positive note, I’ve finished everything needed for my 2017 goal to “launch a subscription business” in the form of Fit Joe Coffee. I’m really excited about this brand and am confident it will help me achieve this goal in combination with my other ventures below.

2. I will  make an App by April 2018

These last two months have been very productive in designing & developing my second app called FOCUS. FOCUS is an app designed to help train your focus & concentration with the combination of binaural beats & meditation. We are taking a lean approach to this app, incrementally releasing progressive builds and adding additional features and incorporating user feedback as we go.  At the time of writing this blog post, I have finished the Wireframes, Design and Logo for the first public release of the app which we should have within the first week of March.

3. Understand Cryptocurrency and build a Winning Portfolio by December 2018

I already hold modest but fairly diverse crypto portfolio. The goal here is to continue to learn about Blockchain technology, it’s uses and be able to predict winning coins, teams and technology. Earlier this month I attended a Cryptocurrency Mastermind meeting here in Vancouver, with a room full of 20 people—including experts in the space of crypto, developers, marketers and crypto newbies alike. The presentation was valuable and the people I met during and after the event were sharp, friendly, futurists who freely and excitedly exchanged their knowledge. I am making it a point to attend more events like this in the future.

Lastly, I’ve also encouraged my parents to diversify their portfolio by investing in some Cryptocurrency. Helping setup up their own crypto portfolio. As I continue to learn more about Cryptocurrency, I believe even having a small position in the market with the right coins could be valuable in the long run.

4. Create and Distribute a Hardcover Journal by Fall 2018

I purposely haven’t started this project yet. I want to wait until Fit Joe is fully launched and the bulk of the design work for FOCUS has been complete before I start this project. I also need to raise some funding for this project if I am to print out a pallet of journals. Alternatively, I might start a kickstarter campaign. The first step here would be to decide if I am to fund this project myself, or to generate interest & funding with Kickstarter.

5. Hit 200lbs in bodyweight by June 2018

My training these past few weeks has been new and challenging. In the first week of January I joined an Olympic Lifting gym in my area. My goal is to really understand and become proficient in the 3 main Olympic lifts so I have a strong base for all my other weight training. I found in my old, traditional gym my technique wasn’t being critiqued and I wasn’t being pressure tested. This new gym has trainers which constantly walk around the class of 12 students, adjusting and providing feedback as we go.

At the start, I found Olympic lifting to be extremely challenging and technical. I am however noticing changes in my body composition including my posture and performance.  I’m just starting to get into the flow of Olympic lifting now – the lifts themselves are starting to feel better, I’m getting stronger and I’m beginning to understand the nuances of each lift which is making my training much more enjoyable.

6. Learn to cook 5 healthy high protein Indian dishes by October 2018

These last 2 months I’ve been cooking much more than I ever have in my life! Opting to eating home 90% of the time and doing meal prep every Sunday—the processing is slowly starting to become more familiar. I’ve also started baking something once a week (instead of buying snacks) choosing to bake my treats so I know exactly what’s in them. So far I’ve made banana bread, blondies and banana nut muffins.

My kitchen flow was horrible when I started—I was a mess, but I’m slowly starting to learn how to be efficient in the kitchen; my chopping skills are getting better, and perhaps even more importantly my weekly meal prep dishes are starting to turn out quite tasty!

Though I haven’t made any Indian food yet (as per my goal) next week instead of baking, I will be making a healthy Indian Kheer (rice pudding) with extra protein. This should kick-start this goal.

7. I will write, sing & perform music by Dec 31st 2018

This year I’m singing in in the YVR POP CHOIR for a 4th term in a row. I’m also performing at Total Vocal in New York City in March with 400 other singers and I’ve got a part in a 5 person performance in April too. Rehearsals for all these has been time consuming and a little stressful, but I’m finding myself improving as a singer and pushing myself outside of my comfort zone. I need to improve the way I practice for all this because it is a little overwhelming but despite this, I’m very happy with this goal so early in the year.

8. Do an epic travel/hike in Fall of 2018

No plans have been made here, yet. But ideal locations are Mt Kilijamaro in Tanzania or Mt Fuji in Japan. I will let a destination come to me naturally instead of forcing it and make plans accordingly. My ideal time to travel is when the weather here in Vancouver isn’t ideal, so I’m aiming for a date in Fall or Winter of this year.

You may also like
My March & April 2018 Goals Review
My May 2017 Goals Review

Leave Your Comment

Your Comment*

Your Name*
Your Webpage