Goals

My July & August 2017 Goals Review

At the end of each month, I perform a monthly goal review where I measure the progress of my 2017 goals and recalibrate my performance to ensure I reach my targets for the year.

The objective of this review is to be 100% honest and truthful with myself and learn from my mistakes & wins as I go.

Below is my July & August 2017 Monthly Goals Review, which goes over each goal that I set and the progress that I’ve made so far. Ultimately, it is my hope that my goal list and process inspire you to set and achieve your own goals & ambitions.

General Monthly Overview:

If you’re reading this and wondering why I’ve mashed July & Augusts review into one post, it’s because I mucked up! I simply just didn’t get around to writing a review in July, and here I am near the end of August finally writing my review. And though the old me might have hated myself for the slip—the new me finds comfort in telling it how it is, learning from my mistake and carrying on with a lesson learned.

The truth is, I might have I missed my review because this summer has been one of my best in recent years. The weather has been gorgeous, I’ve been living in a beautiful part of the city and I’ve intentionally filled the summer it with many adventures with friends and loved ones. Some of which I’ll be covering in this review. So without further ado, let’s get started!

Lots of love—Sunny.

Business Goals:

1. I will easily 5x my monthly income by December 31st 2017:
This summer we broke our highest sales volume record twice—once in June and then again in July. And though I’m still a ways from my 5x goal, we still have time and are manifesting a strong end to Q3 and a powerful Q4. Currently, we are just over 2x.

2. I will easily launch a successful Subscription Service by December 31st 2017:
In the last 3 weeks, I’ve been inspired to bring my digital Bushido Journal to life as a print product. The goal is to provide a platform to write & commit to your goals in a quarterly (3 months format) journal. The idea is to make a journal so effective, that after the first 3 months, users are compelled to continue their subscription to the powerful tool. I’m very excited about this project and aim to launch in October of this year.

3. I will easily host my first Retreat by December 31st 2017:
Beyond the progress we made early in the year on this task, no additional progress was made on this goal. If I am to be honest with myself, a retreat is looking quite ambitious right now. Though we have the outline created and even sourced some potential locations to hold it—2017 might not be the year of my first retreat.

4. I will easily be a Certified High-Performance Coach by December 31st 2017:
Well, it seems like I dropped the ball on this one. Initially, I was planning on taking the CHPC training in Spring of 2017, but I changed my mind and decided to do it in the Fall instead. Unfortunately, it seems the fall certification week has either been canceled or is now full. So needless to say I won’t be able to fulfill this goal this year. The certification is a hefty $10k USD and in all honesty, parts of me were a bit reluctant. But with this newfound inspiration in launching my “Plan & Conquer” Journal, a high-performance certification would be a nice asset to my skill set and I will now instead pursue this certification in 2018.

5. I will easily Launch a Course by December 31st 2017:
At the end of July my team and I wrapped up the last day of filming for the Bushido Body course. The next step is for our video guru, Nate Slaco to edit the footage and for me to create the marketing funnel. I expect the course to launch for Q4.

6. I will easily hire a team by December 31st 2017:
This summer we’ve successfully added a Copywriter, Video Talent, an IT Person and a full-time customer service team to our staff. As time progresses, we will continue to further round out our team. One thing I’ve learned is the task of hiring a team is one that never ends. I’m always looking for that next rock star that can help take us to the next level. But I’m very happy with where our team is at now in comparison to the start of the year.

7. I will easily record 30 videos by December 31st 2017:
No progress has been made on this goal yet. But in one of my quarterly reviews, my accountability partner and I came up with a strategy to get this task done in 2017. I’ve refocused on how I’m going to be making these videos and I’m opting for quick 1-min style videos which will be sharable on Instagram as well as YouTube. I will be batch processing this goal in Q4.

8. I will easily write 5 days a week by December 31st 2017:
To date, I haven’t managed to keep a steady writing rhythm. My writing streaks have been broken multiple times and I find myself not putting my thoughts on paper for weeks and months at a time. As I reflect on the source of the problem, and not the symptom—I can’t help but think the reason I’m not writing often is that I’m not digesting as much information as I once was. I’m reading less, watching fewer documentaries, taking fewer courses, and I haven’t attended any seminars this year. So to honor this goal, I am committing myself back to digesting more quality content so as to spark more ideas and inspire the writing process once more.

9. I will easily reach 200,000 followers on Social Media by December 31st:
Currently, we’re at 180,000 followers for the eCommerce brand and just under 60,000 followers for my personal development brand. That’s a total of 240,000 followers. Goal reached!

Health & Fitness Goals:

10. I will easily be in the best shape of my life by December 31st 2017
As Summer starts to transition to fall and my cutting phase begins to taper, I’ve taken a new approach these last few weeks in not measuring my weight but instead going by the way I look and feel. Because, at the end of a day, a cut isn’t about what your weight is, but rather how you look and the optimal nature of our biomechanical function (our bodies work optimally when we are lean). Recently, I also took part in a 3-day juice fast and felt great during and after. After the cleanse, I noticed myself feeling fuller from smaller meals and generally sharper, and more alert. This juice fast made me realize that I’m very likely overeating. So to test this theory for a longer duration, I’ve begun to incorporate longer times of fasting and smaller meals for the next 4 weeks. I’ll post a picture before I return to bulking.

11. I will easily do the Splits by December 31st 2017:
Since moving downtown, I’ve neglected my splits stretching routine. It’s safe to say that I haven’t made much progress on my splits this month, but I don’t think I’ve lost any of my flexibility either. With that said, I don’t have much time left to accomplish the splits – 4 months, so I’m recommitting myself to my splits routine and I will be increasing the frequency and duration of my stretches to make up for lost time.

12. I will easily hire a personal Muay Thai Coach by December 31st 2017:
Moments before writing this blog post, I signed up for a week trial at a reputable Muay Thai gym near my house. I’m looking forward to checking it out and completing this goal in the near future! =)

Travel & Lifestyle

13. I will easily cross off 2 different destinations on my LIFE LIST by December 31st 2017
I successfully visited Montreal and New York City this summer. Both cities wowed me in different ways. The European influence in Montreal made it seem like I had a little piece of Europe in my own back yard (without the 10-hour flight and needing to change currencies) and the sheer size and scale of New York city inspired me to dream bigger grow my business larger.

Later this year i’ll be doing a Hawaii trip with family (the first family trip in recent history!) and I’m also planting the seeds for something international, maybe Columbia as discussed in earlier reviews, or maybe South East Asia to escape from the winter.

14. I will easily have lived in a Creative Space / Loft by December 31st 2017:
This summer I’ve spent my time living in a beautiful bright sub-loft in an active, sprawling part of the city next to the beach, some of my favorite cafes and close to the downtown core. In the process, I’ve learned a lot about the Vancouver real estate market and in the future, I look forward to purchasing property in this beautiful city. Photos of my space coming soon 🙂

15. I will easily record a Song by December 31st 2017:
This year has been musically fruitful for me.  I had the pleasure of performing a solo with my choir, the YVR Pop Choir this Summer and I’m looking forward to working with my choir director 1-on-1 to bring the very first song I ever wrote to life in Q3-Q4. Stay tuned!

Personal Development Goals:

16. I will easily follow my morning routine 5 days a week by December 31st 2017:
In recent months my morning routine has been fairly consistent, but I haven’t been practicing it in its entirety. For example, I’ve often overlooked my morning mobility workout and I haven’t reviewed my morning vision document in months.

For the next month, I will be revising my morning routine, eliminating anything which doesn’t excite me or serve me and reincorporating those routines which are fundamental to my goals.

17. I will easily Meditate every day by December 31st 2017:
So without realizing it, the way I wrote this goal has lead to self-sabotage. After meditating every day for the first 3-4 weeks of the year, I missed a day. This seemingly small slip-up turned into a horrible feeling of failing an entire goal, because no matter how much I meditated thereafter, I would never reach my goal of meditating every day in 2017. This caused a misalignment within, associating my meditation practice with the feelings and sensations of failure. This experience caused me to rethink my goal and how I use these goals to motivate myself. Instead of my old meditation goal, my new meditation goal is to meditate 100 days in a row, which gives me new found motivation and something to reach for.

Let this be a lesson to myself to never again become a victim of my goals, but rather setup my goals and revise my goals so they serve me.

18. I will easily Condense 12 books into Reports by December 31st:
I’m nowhere close to having read 12 books this year and the thought of writing a report feels overwhelming. I think in order to salvage this goal, I need to come up with a low friction strategy to catalog the content I read so I can easily transition that information into a report or “Coles Notes” of sorts without too much time or strain. I don’t know what this is yet, but I will think on it.

19. I will easily attend 1 Personal Development Event by December 31st 2017:
Reflecting back on this summer, I’ve actually been to many Personal Development “Events”. I attended the Samurai Brotherhood Open House, the Man Talks Hike & Talk Event and even a Satsung hosted by a dear friend. And at the end of September, I’m booked to attend the Entrepreneurs Dinner Event in Dallas Texas. But the intention for this goal wasn’t to attend small events, but rather to attend a seminar, preferably a powerful multi-day seminar to really empower me and my vision. I’m still on the hunt for this event. Contact me and let me know if you know of any! Willing to travel for good ones 🙂

Selfless Service

20. I will easily donate 1000 articles of clothing to the Homeless
No progress has been made on this goal yet. Goal is to donate during the winter of Q4.

Note to self, I recently read a news article which stated the most needed items for homeless shelters are socks! Good to know. 

End of review.

You may also like
My February 2017 Goals Review
My January & February 2018 Goals Review

Leave Your Comment

Your Comment*

Your Name*
Your Webpage