Goals

My March & April 2018 Goals Review

At the end of each month, I perform a monthly goal review where I measure the progress of my 2018 goals and recalibrate my performance to ensure I reach my targets for the year. The Objective of this review is to be 100% honest and truthful with myself and learn from my mistakes & wins as I go.

Below is my March & April 2018 Monthly Goals Review, which goes over each goal that I set and the progress that I’ve made so far. Ultimately, it is my hope that my goal list and process inspire you to set and achieve your own goals.

Overview:

So it seems like these reviews are bi-monthly this year instead of monthly, and honestly—I don’t mind that. I find I’ve got more to share with 8 weeks of progression than I do with only 4 weeks. So I might keep this rhythm until I feel the need to change it.

Wow, it’s already May. Looking back, the first 4 months of this year have been really good. For the most part, I’ve been sticking with my theme of doing more with less, or “Maximize by Minimizing” as I coined it at the start of the year. March was a unique month for me because I spent 2 weeks traveling to New York and Toronto (more about that below) and it took me a few weeks to get back into the “groove” of things. But now that I’m back, everything is moving along really well.

I’ve made progress in almost all areas of my life and goals, and I feel like I’m on track for one of my best years yet. And as it gets warmer and the days get longer here in Vancouver, I’m getting really excited about the summer ahead! But… before I get ahead of myself—lets first review these last 8 weeks and see how I’m progressing 🙂

With love,
Sunny.

Goals for 2018:

1. I will make 7 figures in 2018

With a goal like this its hard to judge performance this early in the year. Especially for me because I’m in the process of selling my first business and just getting started in another one. To be frank, numbers for these first 4 months have been lackluster. But I just have to keep in mind that this goal is multi-pronged and I just have to focus on one step at a time. That’s why I do these reviews, to see how I’m doing and spot the areas where I need to improve. I’m incredibly optimistic about this year and I feel I’ve picked the right projects and people to get me to this goal by years end.

2. I will make an App by April 2018

I’m proud to say that technically, this goal is done!
…though we still have a lot of work to do.

Let me explain:

We officially launched our app in the app store in March. As mentioned in my last review, we’re taking a lean approach to creating this app thus pushing features & builds out progressively & incrementally. So the first version we released back in March was fairly minimalist. We focused primarily on the technical workings of the app, rather than the design or marketing. The great news is that even with this lean approach, Apple noticed our app and saw potential in it, which then lead to an invitation to their campus for a special training where we were able to learn how to improve our app first hand from Apple engineers, designers, and marketers. The event was held in the UK, so I wasn’t able to attend, but my Business partner, Ryan who lives in the UK was able to attend and the feedback we received was priceless.

I’m so glad we’re taking a lean & incremental approach to this app because now we can incorporate all the feedback received from Apple into our second build which I’m currently designing now. I’m really excited to continue to build on this app because I think we’ve got something very cool on our hands!

3. Understand Cryptocurrency and build a Winning Portfolio by December 2018

The Crypto landscape has been rocky and turbulent in recent months, though with a bullish few weeks we’re finally starting to see numbers stabilize and people are starting to buzz about crypto again. I’m still very confident in my holdings and remind myself that I’m in this for the long term, so I’m happy with holding my current positions.

4. Create and Distribute a Hardcover Journal by Fall 2018

Still no progress on this task. As I said in my last review, I want to wait until I’ve got my coffee subscription on autopilot and finished the design work for the FOCUS App before I will be starting this project.

With that said, I still need to consider my options for funding. And will be contemplating these for the next few weeks.

  1. Self-funded (less work, more risk) OR
  2. Kickstarter campaign (more work, less risk)

5. Hit 200lbs in bodyweight by June 2018

It’s now May and I am 190lbs—the biggest I’ve been in a while! I’ve been working out 7-8am in the morning which has helped with the consistency of my workouts and I find gives me more energy and clarity throughout my day. I never thought I’d say this, but I actually enjoy working out in the morning!

My overall body composition isn’t as lean as I would like and it feels strange not cutting for Summer, but I need to remind myself that this is a sacrifice I want to make. Currently, I’m on track for reaching 200 lbs by mid-July early August.

6. Learn to cook 5 healthy high protein Indian dishes by October 2018

My trend of to eating more home cooked meals and eating out less is continuing. I used to eat out 30-40% of the time, but now I eat out only about 10% of the time. Though I haven’t cooked many Indian dishes, I have gotten fairly comfortable in the kitchen and in the last few months I’ve made a variety of dishes, most notably:

  • Thai Green Curry (veg & non-veg)
  • Red Lentil & Meat Pasta
  • Mango Sticky Rice
  • Kheer (Indian Rice Pudding)
  • Banana Nut Muffins

I even hosted my first dinner party complete with veg and non-veg options which was a challenging but rewarding experience. I also made a Mango Sticky Rice dessert for my parents 36th wedding anniversary which was well received.

Overall, I’m really enjoying cooking for myself and others (other than the clean up – I hate that part!) but not many of the dishes I’ve made so far have been Indian dishes (as per the original goal). So I could go 2 ways with this.

  1. Learn and cook more Indian dishes (less interesting to me at the moment) OR
  2. Cook more of what I feel like (more interesting to me right now).

In the name of FUN, I’m just going to pick option (2) and continue to get more familiar with the kitchen with spices and flavors as I’ve already been doing. I feel if I corner myself into Indian food only, it might suck the fun out of it. That’s not to say I won’t learn more Indian dishes, it just might not be ALL Indian as I had originally thought.

7. I will write, sing & perform music by Dec 2018

In March I had the amazing experience of performing at Total Vocal 2018 in New York City at the Lincoln Center, coached by the infectious Deke Sharon as our conductor. The entire trip was something special. Traveling with a  group of 40+ friends and performing for over 3000 people is something I’ll never forget.

Soon after NYC, we performed our 4th benefit concert where along with being part of the choir, I was a backup singer for
India Arie’s “Ready for Love”. A few weeks ago my 5th term with the YVR Pop Choir started and this semester I am going to audition for a solo. I’m really excited for this opportunity! Overall, this goal has been going so well. I’m really coming into my own when it comes to singing and it’s been a very rewarding experience for me.

8. Do an epic travel/hike in Fall of 2018

So I’ve been trying to plan this “epic travel” the last few months and then when I was in NYC, it HIT ME! I was already on that adventure! I was surrounded by 40+ friends from Choir and close friends who traveled from Vancouver, Calgary, and San Francisco to see me. Even having been to NYC only 8 months prior, this second NYC experience was one I won’t soon forget.

After 10 days in NYC, I then flew to Toronto where I got a sweet family hook-up on an amazing Airbnb (with its own rock climbing studio!) and a brand new 2018 Jeep to check out the city. Toronto was so good to me; the locals were ultra friendly, the food was amazing and my company was perfect.

Sometimes you have to take a step back to see just how good you’ve got it. So I asked myself about this “epic travel”. Was this experience the epic travel I was looking for? And the answer was a resounding, YES.

Do I feel the need for another multi-week trip right now? No.

Will I still seek out more adventures in 2018? Well, let’s say,  I’d never say no to an adventure 🙂

Hope you enjoyed this review!

Lots of love,
Sunny.

 

You may also like
My June 2017 Goals Review
My March 2017 Goals Review

Leave Your Comment

Your Comment*

Your Name*
Your Webpage