Goals

My July, August & September 2018 Goals Review

Throughout the year,  I perform regular goal reviews where I measure the progress of my 2018 goals and recalibrate my performance to ensure I reach my targets for the year. The Objective of this review is to be 100% honest and truthful with myself and learn from my mistakes & wins as I go.

Below is my July, August & September 2018 Monthly Goals Review, which goes over each goal that I set and the progress that I’ve made so far. Ultimately, it is my hope that my goal list and process inspire you to set and achieve your own goals.

Overview:

This summer was so good. The weather was amazing, business has been growing and my work is becoming more fulfilling.

With that said, we’re now in the fall season. I’ve never been a fan of the fall – it’s cold and dark and frankly, it’s depressing. But, it has some perks. It often puts my ass into gear because it means I’ve only got 3 months get after my goals.

Also, in October I like to practice the tradition of Sober October. That’s right, no drinks for the entire month of October. Join me if you like. I find this combination of time constraints and clarity give me a boost as the year winds down.

Lastly, I’m going to try to be more concise and less wordy with these reviews. I feel this type of writing is more technical and sometimes I treat it as a creative pursuit (which it can be!) but I prefer to keep it technical for the sake of time, simplicity and efficiency.

Have a wonderful Fall,

With love,
Sunny.

Goals for 2018:

1. I will make 7 figures in 2018

Business is doing well—our best month of the year so far has been August and September was a very close second. Q4 is just starting today and that’s by far the busiest time for us so we’re excited to have a strong finish to the year.

With that said, as I mentioned in my last post, numbers for the first half of this year were dismal. So we are only going to hit 7 figures this year if we sell the e-comm store (which has always been the plan). The only gripe is, buyers want to see a consistently performing store for at least the last 8 months so we might have a hard time doing that before years end.

2. DONE: I will make an App by April 2018

As I write this, the next release of Primr is being uploaded to TestFlight. We’ve (finally!) sourced the perfect sounds and binaural beats and they’re amazing. This new version is more modern and polished, but the app is still early in its journey. We’re still working on a better OnBoarding process and adding multiple “User Journey’s” to the app—right now we only have one User Journey for relaxation, but the plan is to expand that two 4 and then 9.

This app has been unfolding so beautifully. I’m really happy with how everything is working out. Once we release an updated version of the onboarding process I’ll post a link the app here – I’d love to hear your feedback 🙂

3. Understand Cryptocurrency and build a Winning Portfolio by December 2018

No Change here. Though I did attend a really amazing 3-day Investing Conference a few weeks ago. The Rule 1 Investment conference which deals with the Stock Market and NOT Cryptocurrency was very informative and gave me many tools and strategies and theories which I can apply to both markets.

4. Create and Distribute a Hardcover Journal by Fall 2018

Wow, I’m so behind on this journal – but I’ve got a few ideas that I’ve been thinking about as I’ve been procrastinating on this goal.

  • I should start out by printing a less narrative journal – instead, making the journal “interactive” by introducing videos within the journal via link/QR codes for a more immersive and digital experience.
  • Start small and incrementally improve the product – this is going to be key to actually finish this goal.
  • Less narrative means less pages, means a cheaper journal.

I have decided I will self-fund the first initial batch of journals and once I collect a round of feedback from users, I will then crowdsource a larger, more refined production batch.

I also need to estimate how much time I will need to finish this project.

5. Bulk to 200lbs in body weight in 2018

Today I’m at about 186 – going into the Winter Bulk at a decent weight and good strength. Same as below still applies. I slacked off at the gym near the end of the summer, but I’m at a great gym surrounded by some amazing trainers. I’m learning a lot about my body and my imbalances.

6. Learn to cook 5 healthy high protein dishes by October 2018

I’ve been cooking up a storm. I’m just going to add to this list below what else I’ve made. My trend of eating more home cooked meals and eating out less is continuing. I used to eat out 30-40% of the time, but now I eat out only about 10% of the time. Though I haven’t cooked many Indian dishes, I have gotten fairly comfortable in the kitchen and in the last few months I’ve made a variety of dishes, most notably:

  • Thai Green Curry (veg & non-veg) (8/10)
  • Red Lentil & Meat Sauce Pasta (9/10)
  • Mango Sticky Rice (7/10)
  • Kheer (Indian Rice Pudding) (6/10)
  • Banana Nut Muffins (5/10)
  • Mushroom Proscottio Linguine (10/10)
  • Jalapeno Beef Burgers w/ Yam Fries (10/10)
  • Shrimp Pad Thai (5/10) – Either I made this dish very poorly, the shrimp was bad or I have some kind of shellfish allergy lol
  • Sweet Ginger Beef Rice Bowl (6/10)
  • Avocado Linguine (4/10)
  • Vegan Blueberry Cheesecake (10/10)
  • Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies (8/10)
  • Banana Bread Ice Cream (7/10)
  • Cod Fishcakes w/ Roasted Potatoes & Asparagus (6/10) – This dish was a nightmare to make and it stunk up the whole house for days lol.
  • French Omelette (10/10) – This one was harder than it seemed!
  • Coconut Chocolate Macaroons – (9/10)

Note from May 2018:

Overall, I’m really enjoying cooking for myself and others (other than the clean up – I hate that part!) but not many of the dishes I’ve made so far have been Indian dishes (as per the original goal). So I could go 2 ways with this.

  1. Learn and cook more Indian dishes (less interesting to me at the moment) OR
  2. Cook more of what I feel like (more interesting to me right now).

In the name of FUN, I’m just going to pick option (2) and continue to get more familiar with the kitchen with spices and flavors as I’ve already been doing. I feel if I corner myself into Indian food only, it might suck the fun out of it. That’s not to say I won’t learn more Indian dishes, it just might not be ALL Indian as I had originally thought.

7. I will write, sing & perform music by Dec 2018

New Choir semester just started – and while at first, I thought I’d take an extended break, I thought it would be best to continue to sing into the winter, even though we will be singing Christmas songs (not my fav genre to sing in Sept/Oct/Nov lol) its better that I keep singing and keep my voice warm and strong because I found I wasn’t singing much off-season.

Secondly – I have a goal here of writing and performing my OWN music. I just happened to find an Open Mic night here in Vancouver that seems to be the perfect launch pad for my first open mic night. Now, I just need a song to sing!

8. DONE: Do an epic travel in Fall of 2018

Written in May:
So I’ve been trying to plan this “epic travel” the last few months and then when I was in NYC, it HIT ME! I was already on that adventure. I was surrounded by 40+ friends from Choir and close friends who traveled from Vancouver, Calgary, and San Francisco to see me. Even having been to NYC only 8 months prior, this second NYC experience was one I won’t soon forget.

After 10 days in NYC, I then flew to Toronto where I got a sweet family hook-up on an amazing Airbnb (with its own rock climbing studio!) and a brand new 2018 Jeep to check out the city. Toronto was so good to me; the locals were ultra friendly, the food was amazing and my company was perfect.

Sometimes you have to take a step back to see just how good you’ve got it. So I asked myself about this “epic travel”. Was this experience the epic travel I was looking for? And the answer was a resounding, YES.

Do I feel the need for another multi-week trip right now? No.

Will I still seek out more adventures in 2018? Well, let’s say,  I’d never say no to an adventure 🙂

Hope you gained something from this review!

Cheers!
Sunny.

ACTION ITEMS:
– Start Designing Journal w/ Blurb
– Write a song for Open Mic
– Do Rule 1 Investing Analysis each Week
– Revise workout plan – commit to it with a schedule.

You may also like
My October 2017 Goals Review
My May 2017 Goals Review

Leave Your Comment

Your Comment*

Your Name*
Your Webpage