Goals

My October 2017 Goals Review

At the end of each month, I perform a monthly goal review where I measure the progress of my 2017 goals and recalibrate my performance to ensure I reach my targets for the year.

The objective of this review is to be 100% honest and truthful with myself and learn from my mistakes & wins as I go.

Below is my October Monthly Goals Review, which goes over each goal that I set and the progress that I’ve made so far. Ultimately, it is my hope that my goal list and process inspire you to set and achieve your own goals & ambitions.

General Monthly Overview:

As I roll into Q4, the last quarter of the year, I found myself a little overwhelmed by all the goals I still had left to complete. Enough so, that strong hesitation built within me to write this review. But then, I took time to reflect on my progress and reminded myself that this was my first time setting goals in this style—not only that, but I also set 20 goals for myself—which is a lot! lol

One of the beautiful things about publicly stating your goals & intentions is the accountability that comes with the territory. In the past, I might have quit or cut my goals list in half, today I stand determined to do the best I can and learn from the process.

So instead of being paralyzed by the months ahead of me, I took this opportunity to remind myself of my strengths. Ever since I can remember, I’ve been a strong finisher. I’ve always performed best when the pressure was on and that was likely one of the reasons I was a chronic procrastinator growing up.

So this month I’ve been focusing on my finishing strong. Focused, uninterrupted work blocks, clear goals and targets, streamlined communication and earlier mornings have all contributed to higher output. And now, my fear of overwhelm has turned into motivation and excitement. Motivation to get my ass into high-gear and excitement to see how I finish the year. And so, I enter Q4 with confidence…

May Q4 remind you of your own strengths!

With love,
Sunny.

Business Goals:

1. IN PROGRESS – I will easily 5x my monthly income by December 31st 2017:
October has been a very strong month for us. E-commerce as a trend tends to be strongest in Q4 with the holiday season, so this was expected to some degree. But over the last year, we’ve been able to optimize our landing pages, improve the targeting of our facebook ads, and streamline our teams processes—all of which have contributed to higher earnings. I expect to see this growth strengthen as we head into November and December.

2. IN PROGRESS – I will easily launch a successful Subscription Service by December 31st 2017:
Progress on the Plan & Conquer Action Journal and Subscription Coffee brand is coming along well—though admittedly a little slower than I would like. I’m confident I’ll get at least 1 of these products shipped by December which would fulfill this goal—however, I don’t know how much it will contribute to goal #1, as a brand new product launch isn’t often optimized for conversion. Regardless, I’m excited by the possibilities for both these brands, especially in 2018.

3. INCOMPLETE – I will easily host my first Retreat by December 31st 2017:
Beyond the progress we made early in the year on this task, no additional progress was made on this goal. If I am to be honest with myself, a retreat is looking quite ambitious right now. Though we have the outline created and even sourced some potential locations to hold it—2017 might not be the year of my first retreat. Note to self: If this goal doesn’t happen, hold a post-mortem for all the goals which didn’t come to be to figure out what happened and what could be improved.

4. INCOMPLETE – I will easily be a Certified High-Performance Coach by December 31st 2017:
Well, it seems like I dropped the ball on this one. Initially, I was planning on taking the CHPC training in Spring of 2017, but I changed my mind and decided to do it in the Fall instead. Unfortunately, it seems the fall certification week has either been canceled or is now full. So needless to say, I won’t be able to fulfill this goal this year. The certification is a hefty $10k USD and in all honesty, parts of me were a bit reluctant. But with the launching of my “Plan & Conquer” Journal, a high-performance certification would be a nice asset to my skill set and I will instead now pursue this certification in 2018.

5. IN PROGRESS – I will easily Launch a Course by December 31st, 2017:
At the end of July my team and I wrapped up the last day of filming for the Bushido Body course. Currently, our video guru, Nate Slaco is editing the hours of footage we’ve collected and I will soon begin to create the marketing funnel. I expect to have this course ready for launch in December, so we can take advantage of the New Years resolution crowd in January.

6. DONE – I will easily hire a team by December 31st, 2017:
This summer we’ve successfully added a Copywriter, Video Talent, an IT Person and a full-time customer service team to our staff. As time progresses, we will continue to further round out our team. One thing I’ve learned is the task of hiring a team is one that never ends. I’m always looking for that next rock star that can help take us to the next level. But I’m very happy with where our team is at now, especially in comparison to the start of the year.

7. INCOMPLETE – I will easily record 30 videos by December 31st 2017:
No progress has been made on this goal yet—yikes! With the short time frame, I’ve refocused on how I’m going to be making these videos and I’m opting for quick 1-min style videos which will be sharable on Instagram as well as YouTube. I will be batch processing this goal in December.

8. INCOMPLETE – I will easily write 5 days a week by December 31st 2017:
Ok, with only a couple months left this year it’s time to get serious about this goal. As I’ve stated in previous reviews, I haven’t managed to keep a steady writing rhythm. My writing streaks have been broken multiple times and I find myself not putting my thoughts on paper for weeks and months at a time. This is simply because I don’t have writing scheduled into my routine, I write only when inspired, and after reading “The War of Art”, by Steven Pressfield, I’ve come to learn that most writers have a daily writing practice, where they spend time writing, inspired or not. So I will be reintroducing this to my morning routine.

9. DONE – I will easily reach 200,000 followers on Social Media by December 31st:
Currently, we’re at 180,000 followers for the eCommerce brand and just under 60,000 followers for my personal development brand. That’s a total of 240,000 followers. Goal reached!

Health & Fitness Goals:

10. IN PROGRESS – I will easily be in great shape by December 31st 2017
This past month I was able to lean out a considerable amount by reducing my overall caloric count, eating less carbs and increasing my healthy fat intake while practicing fasting on a regular basis. I’m very happy with my results, though I’m not sure if I’ve reached “the best shape of my life”, mostly because it’s hard to measure this—the last time I was the leanest I was around 168lbs which I feel is too small for my frame. What I can say is that this is the best my body has felt in years. I feel strong, my body is balanced, functional and flexible. My posture is good and for the first time in many years, I am injury free.

As I transition back into a bulking phase, I must outline my goals for 2018. My goal is to reach 205 lbs during my bulking phase (this will be the biggest I’ve ever been by 5 lbs) and then lean down to 185 at sub 10% BF.

2018 Fitness Goals:
– Bulk: 205
– Cut: 185 @ sub 10% BF

11. IN PROGRESS – I will easily do the Splits by December 31st, 2017:
Since moving downtown, I’ve neglected my splits stretching routine. It’s safe to say that I haven’t made much progress on my splits this month, but I don’t think I’ve lost any of my flexibility either. With that said, I don’t have much time left to accomplish the splits – only 2 months now, so I’m recommitting myself to my splits routine and I will be increasing the frequency and duration of my stretches to make up for lost time.

12. IN PROGRESS – I will easily hire a personal Muay Thai Coach by December 31st 2017:
Despite having sign-up for a free trial at a local Muay Thai gym near my place last month, I have yet to take advantage of it and still need to attend a class. I’m not too worried about this though, the gym is just a few blocks down from my house and it’s not like I ever stopped training. I will get this goal done.

Travel & Lifestyle

13. DONE – I will easily cross off 2 different destinations on my LIFE LIST by December 31st 2017
I successfully visited Montreal and New York City this summer. Both cities wowed me in different ways. To summarize, the European influence in Montreal made it seems like I had a little piece of Europe in my own backyard (without the 10-hour flight, the language barrier or the need to change currencies) and the sheer size and scale of New York City inspired me to dream bigger and grow my business to new heights.

Last month I was in Dallas, Texas for Entrepreneurs Dinner 7 Luxury Yacht Experience, hosted by my good friend Rob Collier, and in December this year I’ll be doing a Hawaii trip with family (the first family trip in recent history!).

14. DONE – I will easily have lived in a Creative Space / Loft by December 31st, 2017:
This summer I’ve spent my time living in a beautiful bright sub-loft in an active, sprawling part of the city next to the beach, some of my favorite cafes and close to the downtown core. In the process, I’ve learned a lot about the Vancouver real estate market and in the future, I look forward to purchasing property in this beautiful city. Photos of my space coming soon 🙂

15. IN PROGRESS – I will easily record a Song by December 31st, 2017:
This year has been musically fruitful. I had the pleasure of performing a solo with my choir, the YVR Pop Choir this Summer and I’m looking forward to working with my choir director 1-on-1 to bring the very first song I ever wrote to life in Q4. Stay tuned!

Personal Development Goals:

16. IN PROGRESS – I will easily follow my morning routine 5 days a week by December 31st, 2017:
This past month I’ve been diligent about following my morning routine. I’ve found solace in doing my routine because of the way I feel each time I do it. Since I don’t work a traditional Monday-Friday 9-5 job, I often commit to doing my morning routine 7 days a week. I think this has helped the consistency. My morning routine is always a work in progress, as I am adding and removing elements from it all the time.

17. IN PROGRESS – I will easily Meditate 100 days in a row by December 31st, 2017:
To date, I’ve meditated 36 days in a row. And if you read last months review, you’ll remember I modified this goal from mediating every day in 2017, to meditating 100 days in a row in 2017. To ensure success with this, I’ve asked for some accountability from a good friend who is doing the challenge with me. Together we have been holding each other accountable with daily texts. So far so good. I look forward to completing this goal and reaping the rewards as I notice the massive benefits of a deep meditation each and every time.

18. INCOMPLETE – I will easily Condense 12 books into Reports by December 31st 2017:
Thus far, I’ve read 7 books this year, which brings me to only half of the books I’ve aimed for this year and the thought of writing a report for each of these books feels overwhelming. This goal was poorly planned, to the point where I didn’t write any notes for any of the books I’ve read – at least not enough to write reports on them. Because of this, I am eliminating this goal from this years list simply because the scale of this goal will take away time from completing other goals.

19. IN PROGRESS – I will easily attend 1 Personal Development Event by December 31st, 2017:
Reflecting back on this summer, I’ve actually been to many “Personal Development Events”. I attended the Samurai Brotherhood Open House, the Man Talks Hike & Talk Event and even a Satsung hosted by my dear friend Boris Kerjner. And at the end of the month, I’m booked to attend the Entrepreneurs Dinner Event in Dallas, Texas. But the intention for this goal wasn’t to attend short events, but rather to attend a seminar, preferably a powerful multi-day seminar to really empower me and my vision. I’m still on the hunt for this event. Contact me and let me know if you know of any! Willing to travel for good ones 🙂

Selfless Service

20. IN PROGRESS – I will easily donate 1000 articles of clothing to the Homeless
Today I spent some time to source quality winter socks from suppliers. Why socks? Because I noted from a recent nes article that socks are the most needed items for homeless shelters. Once we place an order on these socks, they will arrive late November early December for us to distribute.

End of review.

You may also like
My April 2017 Goals Review
My March 2017 Goals Review

Leave Your Comment

Your Comment*

Your Name*
Your Webpage