Goals

My September 2017 Goals Review

At the end of each month, I perform a monthly goal review where I measure the progress of my 2017 goals and recalibrate my performance to ensure I reach my targets for the year.

The objective of this review is to be 100% honest and truthful with myself and learn from my mistakes & wins as I go.

Below is my September 2017 Monthly Goals Review, which goes over each goal that I set and the progress that I’ve made so far. Ultimately, it is my hope that my goal list and process inspire you to set and achieve your own goals & ambitions.

General Monthly Overview:

As the days become progressively shorter, the weather starts to cool and leaves begin falling from trees, I find myself in not only a transitionary month seasonally but also a transitionary month personally and professionally.

Not much time remains in the year and I feel a little overwhelmed at all the goals I still yet to complete. But then I remind myself, traditionally, I’ve always been a late starter—someone who has excelled when it matters most. So I will embrace this mentality and forge ahead.

Summer is to enjoy and fall/winter, as I see, it is a time to get busy! Q3 is coming to an end and Q4, the busiest quarter for e-commerce is right around the corner, and I’m feeling good about it.

With love,
Sunny.

Business Goals:

1. I will easily 5x my monthly income by December 31st 2017:
The theme of transition definitely continues into my business – this fall we have been working to move our e-commerce platform from Shopify to ClickFunnels. We’ve also changed our strategy from selling small ticket items to larger ticket items. This coupled with the transition of seasons which historically shows a dip in numbers has given us lower than expected numbers thus far. However, this isn’t deterring me from my goals at all. With the upcoming launch of 2 new subscription brands (noted below), I’m still very optimistic and excited for a strong Q4.

2. I will easily launch a successful Subscription Service by December 31st 2017:
In the last month, I’ve been inspired to bring my digital Bushido Journal to life as a print product. The goal is to provide a platform to write & commit to your goals in a quarterly (3 months format) journal. The idea is to make a journal so effective, that after the first 3 months, users are compelled to continue their subscription to the powerful tool. I’m excited to bring this project to life and aim to launch in October, ready for the holiday season.
Additionally, inspired by a young local entrepreneur, I’ve been working to bring another subscription service to market. This project revolves around my love for coffee & fitness. Without giving away too much, it’s a pre-workout of sorts which caters to the health conscious fitness enthusiast. I aim to have this ready for market mid Q4 to help with goal #1.

3. I will easily host my first Retreat by December 31st 2017:

Beyond the progress we made early in the year on this task, no additional progress was made on this goal. If I am to be honest with myself, a retreat is looking quite ambitious right now. Though we have the outline created and even sourced some potential locations to hold it—2017 might not be the year of my first retreat. Note to self: If this goal doesn’t happen, hold a post-mortem for all the goals which didn’t come to be to figure out what happened and what could be improved.

4. I will easily be a Certified High-Performance Coach by December 31st 2017:
Well, it seems like I dropped the ball on this one. Initially, I was planning on taking the CHPC training in Spring of 2017, but I changed my mind and decided to do it in the Fall instead. Unfortunately, it seems the fall certification week has either been canceled or is now full. So needless to say I won’t be able to fulfill this goal this year. The certification is a hefty $10k USD and in all honesty, parts of me were a bit reluctant. But with this newfound inspiration in launching my “Plan & Conquer” Journal, a high-performance certification would be a nice asset to my skill set and I will instead now pursue this certification in 2018.

5. I will easily Launch a Course by December 31st, 2017:
At the end of July my team and I wrapped up the last day of filming for the Bushido Body course. The next step is for our video guru, Nate Slaco to edit the footage and for me to create the marketing funnel. I expect the course to launch for Q4.


6. DONE – I will easily hire a team by December 31st, 2017:

This summer we’ve successfully added a Copywriter, Video Talent, an IT Person and a full-time customer service team to our staff. As time progresses, we will continue to further round out our team. One thing I’ve learned is the task of hiring a team is one that never ends. I’m always looking for that next rock star that can help take us to the next level. But I’m very happy with where our team is at now in comparison to the start of the year.

7. I will easily record 30 videos by December 31st 2017:
No progress has been made on this goal yet. But in one of my quarterly reviews, my accountability partner and I came up with a strategy to get this task done in 2017. I’ve refocused on how I’m going to be making these videos and I’m opting for quick 1-min style videos which will be sharable on Instagram as well as YouTube. I will be batch processing this goal in Q4.

8. I will easily write 5 days a week by December 31st 2017:
To date, I haven’t managed to keep a steady writing rhythm. My writing streaks have been broken multiple times and I find myself not putting my thoughts on paper for weeks and months at a time. As I reflect on the source of the problem, and not the symptom—I can’t help but think the reason I’m not writing often is that I’m not digesting as much information as I once was. I’m reading less, watching fewer documentaries, taking fewer courses, and I haven’t attended any seminars this year. So to honor this goal, I am committing myself back to digesting more quality content so as to spark more ideas and inspire the writing process once more.

9. DONE – I will easily reach 200,000 followers on Social Media by December 31st:
Currently, we’re at 180,000 followers for the eCommerce brand and just under 60,000 followers for my personal development brand. That’s a total of 240,000 followers. Goal reached!

Health & Fitness Goals:

10. I will easily be in the best shape of my life by December 31st 2017
This past month I was able to lean out a considerable amount by reducing my overall caloric count, eating less carbs and increasing my healthy fat intake while practicing fasting on a regular basis. I’m very happy with my results, though I’m not sure if I’ve reached “the best shape of my life”, mostly because it’s hard to measure this—the last time I was the leanest I was around 168lbs which I feel is too small for my frame. What I can say is that this is the best my body has felt in years. I feel strong, my body is balanced, functional and flexible. My posture is good and for the first time in many years, I am injury free.
As I transition back into a bulking phase, I must outline my goals for 2018. My goal is to reach 205 lbs during my bulking phase (this will be the biggest I’ve ever been by 5 lbs) and then lean down to 185 at sub 10% BF. Action Item: Revise workout routine
2018 Fitness Goals:
– Bulk: 205
– Cut: 185 @ sub 10% BF

11. I will easily do the Splits by December 31st 2017:

Since moving downtown, I’ve neglected my splits stretching routine. It’s safe to say that I haven’t made much progress on my splits this month, but I don’t think I’ve lost any of my flexibility either. With that said, I don’t have much time left to accomplish the splits – only 3 months now, so I’m recommitting myself to my splits routine and I will be increasing the frequency and duration of my stretches to make up for lost time. Action Item: Include my splits routine into each workout.

12. I will easily hire a personal Muay Thai Coach 
by December 31st 2017:
Despite having sign-up for a free trial at a local Muay Thai gym near my place last month, I have yet to take advantage of it and still need to attend a class. I’m not too worried about this though, the gym is just a few blocks down from my house and it’s not like I ever stopped training. I will get this goal done.

Travel & Lifestyle

13. DONE – I will easily cross off 2 different destinations on my LIFE LIST by December 31st 2017
I successfully visited Montreal and New York City this summer. Both cities wowed me in different ways. To summarize, the European influence in Montreal made it seems like I had a little piece of Europe in my own backyard (without the 10-hour flight, the language barrier or the need to change currencies) and the sheer size and scale of New York City inspired me to dream bigger and grow my business to new heights.
Next month I’ll be going to Dallas Texas for an entrepreneurial networking event entitled Entrepreneurs Dinner hosted by my good friend Rob Collier, and later this year I’ll be doing a Hawaii trip with family (the first family trip in recent history!).
14. DONE – I will easily have lived in a Creative Space / Loft by December 31st 2017:
This summer I’ve spent my time living in a beautiful bright sub-loft in an active, sprawling part of the city next to the beach, some of my favorite cafes and close to the downtown core. In the process, I’ve learned a lot about the Vancouver real estate market and in the future, I look forward to purchasing property in this beautiful city. Photos of my space coming soon 🙂
15. I will easily record a Song by December 31st 2017:
This year has been musically fruitful.  I had the pleasure of performing a solo with my choir, the YVR Pop Choir this Summer and I’m looking forward to working with my choir director 1-on-1 to bring the very first song I ever wrote to life in Q4. Stay tuned!

Personal Development Goals:

16. I will easily follow my morning routine 5 days a week by December 31st 2017:
This past month I’ve been diligent about following my morning routine. I’ve found solace in doing my routine because of the way I feel each time I do it. Since I don’t work a traditional Monday-Friday 9-5 job, I often commit to doing my morning routine 7 days a week. I think this has helped the consistency. My morning routine is always a work in progress, I am adding and removing elements from it all the time.
17. I will easily Meditate 100 days in a row by December 31st 2017:
So, if you read last months review, you’ll remember I modified this goal from mediating every day in 2017, to meditating 100 days in a row in 2017. To ensure success with this, I’ve asked for some accountability from a good friend who is doing the challenge with me. Together we have been holding each other accountable with daily texts. So far so good. I look forward to completing this goal and reaping the rewards as I notice the massive benefits of a deep meditation each and every time.
 
18. I will easily Condense 12 books into Reports by December 31st:
I’m nowhere close to having read 12 books this year and the thought of writing a report feels overwhelming. In order to salvage this goal, I need to come up with a low friction strategy to catalog the content I read so I can easily transition that information into a report or “Coles Notes” of sorts without too much time or strain. I don’t know what this is yet, but I have created it as an action item for this months review.
19. I will easily attend 1 Personal Development Event by December 31st 2017:
Reflecting back on this summer, I’ve actually been to many “Personal Development Events”. I attended the Samurai Brotherhood Open House, the Man Talks Hike & Talk Event and even a Satsung hosted by my dear friend Boris Kerjner. And at the end of the month, I’m booked to attend the Entrepreneurs Dinner Event in Dallas, Texas. But the intention for this goal wasn’t to attend short events, but rather to attend a seminar, preferably a powerful multi-day seminar to really empower me and my vision. I’m still on the hunt for this event. Contact me and let me know if you know of any! Willing to travel for good ones 🙂

Selfless Service

20. I will easily donate 1000 articles of clothing to the Homeless
No progress has been made on this goal yet. Goal is to donate during the winter of Q4.

Note to self, I recently read a news article which stated the most needed items for homeless shelters are socks! Good to know. 

End of review.

You may also like
My February 2017 Goals Review
My May 2017 Goals Review

Leave Your Comment

Your Comment*

Your Name*
Your Webpage